Back to top

Event Announcement: BGIN Block #1 meeting (Virtual Mumbai/India)

Date/ Time

  • November 23, 24 and - 25, 2020
  • 12:00 - 15:00 UTC


Please register from here. Link to the web conference will be provided before the meeting.

Goal of the meeting

As the first general meeting of BGIN, its main goal is setting up a common stage of multi-stakeholder discussion. After the agreement at G20 last year, several conferences/meetings were organized to gather multi-stakeholders including developers and regulators who never collaborated before. With leveraging those discussions, we aim to establish organization and processes of multi-stakeholder discussions suitable for permissionless blockchain ecosystems. The agenda includes discussion of BGIN’s multi-stakeholder governance, discussion of the essential work items on identity, privacy and key management. BGIN’s future roadmap is also discussed.

Who should attend?

  • Developers
  • Regulators
  • Business entities
  • Consumers
  • Civil society
  • Academia
  • And anyone can join!


Day 1

  • 12:00-13:00 Opening Plenary [Draft Code of Conduct] [Draft Note Well][Presentation slides]
  • 13:00-13:30 Tutorial Session 1 [Presentation Slides]
    • Yuta Takanashi (Director for International Digital Strategy and Policy, Financial Services Agency Japan)
      • “Blockchain based systems and a new order”
  • 13:30-14:00 Tutorial Session 2
    • Wouter Kampmann (Head of Engineering, Maker Foundation)
      • “The Cathedral, the Bazaar, and the Central Park – Technical challenges in the DeFi ecosystem."
  • 14:00-14:30 Tutorial Session 3
    • Aaron Wright (Clinical Professor of Law, Cardozo Law School; Director of Cardozo Blockchain Project)
  • 14:30-15:00 Tutorial Session 4
    • Roman Pavlov (SafeStead Inc)

Day 2

  • 12:00-13:30 Governance WG (Chair: Shigeya Suzuki and Aaron Wright)
    • Overall governance policy
    • Process & IPR document (12:30-13:00)
      • Decision-making process
      • Legal entity
    • Document Styles Directives [Tentative document]
    • AOB  
  • 13:30-15:00 Study group on Identity, Privacy and Key Management (Chair: Nat Sakimura and Katharina Pistor)

Day 3

  • 12:00-12:30 Tutorial Session 5
    • Neil Woodfine (Blockstream)
  • 12:30-13:00 Tutorial Session 6
    • Tanvi Ratna (Founder & CEO Policy 4.0)
      • “Insights on Indian blockchain regulation and Chinese digital currency”
  • 13:00-14:00 BGIN organization and roadmap [Discussion materials][Draft roadmap]
    • Discussion on organizational issues
    • Communication tools and method
    • Liaison strategy
    • Administrative management
    • Presentation on roadmap and future items (Shin’ichiro)
    • AOB
  • 14:00-15:00 Closing Plenary [Presentation slides]
    • Wrap-up
    • GWG (Co-chairs of GWG)
    • SGIP (Co-chairs of SGIP)
    • Others (Co-chairs of BGIN)
    • Introduction to Block2 / Call for host for Block3
    • Closing remarks by Prof. Matsuo

Call for Tutorial Speakers and Agenda Items

Call for Tutorial Speakers

On day 1 and day 3, to have common understandings and problem statements, there will be several tutorials from stakeholders. We call for tutorial speakers to present essential or emerging issues which need multi-stakeholder discussions. Please send us your proposal at mailing lists or Zulip channel by November 20..

Call for Agenda Items

Working group/ Study group

We are now discussing BGIN’s governance and future work items on identity/privacy and key management. The current work items and documents are stored in our GitHub repository. During day 2, we will discuss these documents. Additionally, if you have any new agenda items for the working group and study group, please share your input at mailing lists or Zulip channel by November 20..

Future work items

On day 3, we will discuss the future work items which need discussion and document development by multi-stakeholders. We welcome any proposal for the future work items. Please share your input at mailing lists or Zulip channel by November 20.

Organizing and program committee (alphabetical order)

  • Julien Bringer (#2 local)
  • Joaquin Garcia (#2 local)
  • Shin’ichiro Matsuo
  • Jacob Ninan (local)
  • Katharina Pistor
  • Nat Sakimura
  • Mai Santamaria
  • Robert Schwentker
  • Manoj Kumar Singh (local)
  • Shailaja Singh (local)
  • Shigeya Suzuki
  • Ryosuke Ushida
  • Aaron Wright
  • Ayako Yamazaki